Board Members

Helix is governed by a Board of Directors elected by their communities. Each Board member represents one of the five divisions shown on the map below. The Board oversees Helix policies and resources, and Board members represent Helix on regional water boards and committees and in the communities we serve.


To contact the Board, email individual directors or contact the Board Secretary at 619-667-6232 or

Joel A. Scalzitti

Board President

Director of Division 5

Committees: Chair of Lake Jennings Committee, Lake Jennings Campground, East County Economic Development Council (Alternate), The Water Conservation Garden Authority (Alternate), La Mesa Chamber of Commerce, San Diego East County Chamber of Commerce, San Diego Chapter of the WateReuse Association.

Current term    12/07/16-12/07/20
First Elected      12/07/12

Email Director Scalzitti

Division 5 Map

Kathleen Coates Hedberg PE, MPH

Board Vice President

Director of Division 4

Committees: Association of California Water Agencies (ACWA) Water Quality Committee, ACWA Safe Drinking Water Subcommittee, California Special Districts Association (CSDA) Board of Directors, CSDA Grant Committee, Helix Water District Audit Committee (2014-15), Harry Griffen Park Steering Committee, Helix Scholarship Committee, La Mesa Chamber of Commerce, San Diego East County Chamber of Commerce, San Diego Chapter of WateReuse Association

Current term    12/17/14-12/12/18
First Elected      12/01/06

Email Director Hedberg

Division 4 Map

Dan McMillan

Director of Division 1

McMillan was appointed by the board and sworn in February 1, 2017 for a two-year term. His extensive experience in local government includes past positions on the board of directors of Padre Dam Municipal Water District, the San Diego County Water Authority, San Miguel Consolidated Fire Protection District and the San Diego County Wastewater Management District.  McMillan is marine veteran and businessman.

Current term    2/1/17-12/12/18
Appointed         2/1/17

Email Director McMillan

Division 1 Map

DeAna R. Verbeke

Director of Division 2

Committees: San Diego County Water Authority (SDCWA) Board of Directors, SDCWA Board Committee on Imported Water, SDCWA Board Committee on Administration and Finance, SDCWA Conservation Action Committee, The Water Conservation Garden Authority, Vice Chair of Region 10 of Association of California Water Agencies (ACWA), East County Economic Development Council, La Mesa Chamber of Commerce, San Diego East County Chamber of Commerce, San Diego Chapter of the WateReuse Association

Current term    12/17/14-12/12/18
First Elected      04/27/05

Email Director Verbeke

Division 2 Map

Mark Gracyk

Director of Division 3

Gracyk brings to Helix’s board over 20 years of experience in the water industry. He is an Army Corps of Engineers veteran and manages the reclaimed water systems on Marine Corps Air Station Miramar. Gracyk is a graduate of Cuyamaca College and San Diego State University, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in public administration, and recently completed the San Diego County Water Authority’s Citizens Water Acadamy. He is a resident of Lemon Grove and served eight years as chairman of the Lemon Grove School Board’s Proposition W Oversight Committee.

Current term    12/07/16-12/07/20
First Elected      11/8/16

Email Director Gracyk

Division 3 Map

Board Elections

Resolution 85-59 of the Helix Water District Board of Directors states that the district’s general election will be held in conjunction with the statewide general election.

Each director is elected for a term of four years and assumes office at 12 p.m. on the first Friday in December following the election.

The terms of office are staggered so that elections are held in November of each even-numbered year. Directors representing Divisions 2 and 4 are elected each leap year, and directors representing Divisions 1, 3 and 5 are elected in the intervening even-numbered election years.

Individuals interested in serving on the Helix Water District Board of Directors are invited to visit the County of San Diego Registrar of Voters for the latest information on how to file as a candidates, including filing deadlines.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This