At the December 18, 2019 meeting, Helix Water District’s board of directors unanimously elected Director Mark Gracyk to serve as board president in 2020 and Director DeAna Verbeke to serve as the board’s vice president.

Gracyk was elected to the board in 2016 and represents Helix’s division 3 customers in La Mesa, Lemon Grove and Spring Valley. Verbeke has served on Helix’s board since 2005; she represents the district’s division 2 customers, located in portions of La Mesa and El Cajon.

The board thanked outgoing president Daniel McMillan for his leadership and commitment to customers in 2019, a year defined by Helix’s investments in infrastructure, sustainability and technology. For more information on the district’s investments and performance, read our 2018-19 Annual Report.

One of Gracyk’s first tasks is determining committee assignments for the year ahead. Helix’s board members represent the district and its customers on the San Diego County Water Authority board; in planning, policy-making and funding decisions on regional and statewide committees; and in lobbying initiatives in Sacramento. Gracyk will announce assignments at the board’s January 15, 2020 meeting.

For more information on Helix’s board go to